Reviews

What people are saying about St Giles House Hotel




The place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly, nothing too much trouble hotel.Most conveniently located too! Very comfortable rooms.Extremely good value and delish breakfast. Why would you not wish to stay here?

Reviewer:Lizzie M | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Our favourite hotel in Norwich - Rating 5/5

The title says it all.We stay here regularly and always enjoy the hotel.Great staff, nothing is too much trouble.

Reviewer:Mark H | Sun 15th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Love the St. Giles House Hotel - Rating 5/5

St. Giles House always makes me feel at home!Comfy bed, great location in walking distance to everything, lovely breakfast in the morning and most helpful, welcoming staff! Love the little touches such as hot beverages, water, and snacks left daily as well as the library downstairs!It's a pleasure staying in this historic venue.

Reviewer:Mrs. Barbara G | Thu 3rd Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

We have stayed with you on several occasions and you're our first choice hotel in Norwich.Thank you

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew H | Mon 17th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


excellent stay - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed staying at the hotel as it met all our needs. Staff considerate, breakfast first rate, quiet room and parking.Well done.

Reviewer:Ms. geraldine b | Sun 21st May 2017 | 2 years ago


An excellent stay again! - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful staff, beautifully clean spacious room and a superb breakfast. Always stay here when in Norwich! Will be returning.

Reviewer:Mr. MatthewC | Wed 12th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Speedy check in. Room very spacious and clean. We had breakfast as room service.Whole stay was faultless. Hotel brilliant location

Reviewer:Mr. Neil D | Mon 23rd Jan 2017 | 3 years ago


Stepping back in time - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, really great service from all the staff, it's like stepping back in time. Well recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Dave C | Mon 9th Jan 2017 | 3 years ago


Fantastic Break - Rating 5/5

Yet another fantastic break at SGH. The staff and the hotel never fails to impress. We will be back soon.! Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. MIKE S | Fri 30th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Fabulous Short break! - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed at the St Giles House Hotel as part of our Xmas shopping trip to Norwich. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Xmas and the staff were very welcoming. Our room was on the ground floor and had an amazing bathroom. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, we choose to explore the city, but breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in a hotel. Wonderful choice of food and excellent quality. I would definitely recommend the hotel for those wanting that little touch of luxury on a city break.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael T | Sun 18th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

This is a first class hotel with first class service.

Reviewer:Mr. Keith S | Sun 18th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Two day Family Get Together- Rating 5/5

You will not find a better Hotel for service and friendly staff with an excellent restaurant with 5* servicewe had a small problem with the first room and it was sorted in ten minuets great serviceWe will be back

Reviewer:Mr. Clive S | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Like this place. - Rating 5/5

Often stay here, very nice rooms, well equipped with everything you need. Great location for shopping. Good food and really friendly staff. Recommend it.

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine B | Fri 9th Dec 2016 | 3 years ago


Our stay at St. Giles House Hotel - Rating 5/5

This was our first stay in St. Giles House Hotel and we found the standard of accommodation, food and service all excellent. We liked the large room and the bed was particularly comfortable.We will certainly stay again in the future.Mary and Andrew

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary R | Tue 29th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely staff and great hotel - Rating 5/5

This was the 3rd time we've stayed and it doesnt dissapoint. The room we stayed (Room 17) was lovely and clean although it did have poor TV reception an was a bit too warm. As for the staff, everyone from front desk reception to bar staff to those serving breakfast were attentive and prompt. We'll be seeing you again!

Reviewer:Mr. Chris P | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


St Giles House , Norwich- Rating 5/5

We had been recommended to stay by old friends who had stayed a number of times in the past ;and as the four of us were going to Don Giovannigiven by Travelling Glyndbourne , we joined them to stay at SGH , rather than drive home to North Norfolk after the opera . We found the reception welcoming , our room comfortable and well appointed , and breakfast the following morning first rate . The ambience of SHG is period / stylish , and its location perfect for a part of Norwich - the Lanes , Tombland , Elm Hill, the Cathedral, and indeed the Market and Gentlemens Walkare all very readily accessible on foot . We were able to park at SGH without difficulty , even though tit seemed that there were plenty of other guests . All in all , most enjoyable and we will return .

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary R | Thu 24th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at St. Giles a number of times.It is a perfectly located hotel.The staff are always friendly and welcoming.The rooms are a delight to stay in.Impeccably clean, comfortable and well resourced.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kim T | Thu 24th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Anniversary Break - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay yet again, beautiful place, helpful staff (Andrew), amazing opulence within the building and rooms.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan C | Wed 23rd Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Great hotel - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and everything (except the weather) was as we wished it. Our request over bedding was met very well.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel G | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Great location, helpful staff, hope to stay again - Rating 5/5

Hotel has great facilities with nice touches in the room (dressing gowns and luxury toiletries).Generous sized rooms and ensuite shower room was bigger than most.Reception staff were really friendly and helpful.Interesting building in a central location with private car park.Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and we certainly hope to be back.

Reviewer:Miss. Sarah R | Sun 20th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Christmas shopping base - Rating 5/5

Excellent overall experience,as ever

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary P | Fri 18th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Shopping Spree - Rating 5/5

Very friendly hotel. Room was smaller than we are used to. The bathroom with just a shower is disproportionate to the room size. Nevertheless, comfortable.Breakfasts, first class.

Reviewer:Mr. John S | Wed 19th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A lovely hotel in a great location - Rating 5/5

This is a fantastic hotel in a brilliant location, just minutes walk away from the centre of Norwich and the main shopping area.There are tons of amazing-looking historical buildings around, perfect for the history buff or keen photographer.The hotel itself was welcoming, room well-appointed and comfy and bar well-stocked, if that's your type of thing.

Reviewer:Mr. Joe S | Sun 2nd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


St Giles House Hotel - Rating 5/5

Great hotel, great staff, close to city centre,

Reviewer:Mr. Paul J | Wed 21st Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


2 Day Break. - Rating 5/5

The only negative comment please improve the Breakfast Coffee. Please also give a big thank you to the Girls who clean the rooms, you could not wish for a more happy group of Girls.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan P | Thu 21st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Very impressed - Rating 5/5

Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely rooms, and the food was really nice too. Good location close to the centre of Norwich. We intend to visit again.

Reviewer:Ms. louise t | Wed 20th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Family event - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel,with clean spacious rooms. Great location within easy reach of all attractions. Staff are friendly and helpful staff.Would definitely revisit.

Reviewer:Mrs. Ingrid W | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Style and Comfort - Rating 5/5

As ever, St Giles House hotel continues to provide an exemplary service

Reviewer:Mr. John D | Fri 1st Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Great Service, Great Room With Balcony,Great Location, Complimentary Car Park.Fabulous

Reviewer:Mr. JAMES J | Fri 24th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay - as always - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel with great individual rooms and the service from all the staff was very thoughtful and friendly - nothing was too much trouble

Reviewer:Mr. sarv s | Tue 31st May 2016 | 3 years ago


Room - Rating 5/5

Superb room and service . Stayed few times recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip C | Mon 16th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

Service was excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Luke B | Sun 15th May 2016 | 3 years ago


St Giles - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay here, albeit a brief overnight stop.Great location, lovely rooms and really helpful staff.

Reviewer:Dr. Mark H | Sun 15th May 2016 | 3 years ago


May visit - Rating 5/5

When I arrived at the St Giles House I was pleasantly surprised by the warmth and attentiveness of all the staff.Andrew, made sure my travelling companions and I were given a reservation in the restaurant very late in the evening and with minimal notice.My room/suite was excellent.Very comfortable.All in all a lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul D | Mon 9th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Is this the best hotel in Norwich? - Rating 5/5

This was one of our better hotel experiences. Lovely suite of rooms, very friendly, efficient and welcoming staff, plus excellent food in the hotel restaurant. We will look no further when next staying in Norwich, we know this hotel cannot be bettered.I should add that we are extremely fussy travellers!.

Reviewer:Mrs. Valerie A | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


A Favourite of ours - Rating 5/5

We love staying at this hotel.Beautiful building, great cocktail bar, but most importantly friendly, helpful and considerate staff always look after us.Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Dr. Mark H | Fri 4th Mar 2016 | 4 years ago


Excellent Hotel with real class! - Rating 5/5

We stayed over Christmas to see our family. The hotel was a really delightful surprise. Beautifully crafted with excellent service. In a perfect location to walk around Norwich. Definitely one we would recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Tim A | Mon 28th Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Near embarisment - Rating 5/5

Awoken by door opened as no chain fitted at 08:15( we presume by house keeping as no explanation was given when inquired at reseption soon after ) not due to check out till 11:00am , room very warm as the weather was so mild so quilt folded back and in a state off sleep was awoken by the door being opened ! As the bed was on that wall close the door I was able to stop the door fully opening with my hand stretched out and gave an audible indication that the room was occupied , nearly a near embarisment for all concerned . Don't know why thay whinged access to the room that early ,On the plus sidewe were up in plenty of time for breakfast .

Reviewer:Miss. Kay S | Thu 24th Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

EXCELLENT FOOD,DRINK,STAFF,SERVICE,ROOM AND lOCATION.

Reviewer:Mr. William W | Tue 8th Dec 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent service, great accommodation in a lovely location - Rating 5/5

Everything was great :friendly, helpful and effective team made our stay very enjoyable. Location is excellent, room was well appointed, breakfast was lovely. Car park at the back was very convenient.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul B | Mon 30th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Weekend Visits - Rating 5/5

We have stayed at this beautiful hotel on previous occasions when visiting our daughter who is studying at UEA.The hotel is in an ideal position for walking into the City centre and having a car park is so useful.All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.Have eaten snacks and breakfast here and all are well presented and tasty.All the rooms we have stayed in are pleasant and very comfortable.I would highly recommend this hotel and would always stay here when visiting Norwich.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemarie W | Mon 23rd Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


2 Day stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent as usual, will stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Alan P | Sun 22nd Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect stay- Rating 5/5

Traveling with a very elderly relative, St Giles House Hotel gave us a fantastic experience. Our rooms were excellent &meals in restaurant absolutely delicious. The staff all went the extra mile to ensure that my relative was comfortable and to help me. I hadn't requested this they assessed the situation immediately and their help made for a really marvellous stay at this beautiful hotel.

Reviewer:Mrs. Corita M | Sat 7th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Great recetion staff - Rating 5/5

We had a great welcome and very friendly conversation at all times with the reception staff they were very helpful about parking and shopping.the room and bathroom were very clean and the bathroom huge with a great rain shower head. Very centrally located in a wonderful building. breakfast was great and far better than a Hotel Indigo we recently stayed in for double the price. Lovely, intimate hotel with great service and no fuss.

Reviewer:Mr. Dale N | Sun 1st Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Hotel stay 22 September - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the hotel whilst on business in Norwich and would thoroughly recommend it for both business and leisure. I only stayed for one night and so didn't have the chance to use all of the facilities but everything looked very good. Breakfast was excellent, table service rather than the modern buffet style was a nice touch. Very helpful and friendly service throughout the hotel. My only complaint was being woken by the noise from the binmen at 7am but that can't be blamed on the hotel.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian K | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

Outstanding service and accommodation and excellent value for money, especially for a city center hotel.Already planning a return visit. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Derek Y | Tue 27th Oct 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Beautiful Hotel. Bedroom and Bathroom were first class. A huge assortment of complimentary snacks in the room. Waiter/Waitress service for breakfast in the morning was a little bit slow. The rest of the staff including the manageress were very friendly and could not not do enough to make our stay a pleasure. There were many facilities we did not use. If I ever require overnight stay in Norwich in the future, I will definitely contact this hotel first

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew D | Mon 21st Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely hotel, great location - Rating 5/5

Lovely, well appointed hotel, very comfortable, friendly helpful staff. Absolutely brilliant location but finding the parking lot is a bit of a challenge to say the least!

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynn e | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Top service - Rating 5/5

Very professional, excellent service. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael F | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


hotel stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel,the bedroom was lovely,sitting out on the terrace was especially nice in the evening,would definetly be staying again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie D | Mon 24th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


SHORT BREAK IN NORWICH - Rating 5/5

THIS HOTEL IS CONVENIENT FOR THE TOWN CENTRE ONLY 2 MINUTES WALK, OUR ROOM WAS VERY COSY AND COMFORTABLE AND WE LIKED THE SMALL TOUCHES OF HAVING BOTTLED WATER, CRIPS AND SWEETS IN OUR ROOM, WOULD DEFINITELY CONSIDER STAYING AGAIN

Reviewer:Mrs. Avril W | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


A very pleasurable experience - Rating 5/5

From the start to the finish our five day stay was delightful. The attention to detail made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The staff were always smiling, friendly, helpful, polite and behaved in an extremely professional manner. Sadly these skills have been lost at many other establishments. The food was outstanding both in choice and quality, both for breakfast and the evening meals, which were creative and modern in presentation and a real taste of fine dining.The room was tastefully decorated and extremely comfortable for our extended stay. The outside terrace area was an added bonus. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Norwich.We have been on numerous occasions to visit family and nothing touches this quality. A sheer pleasure. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane C | Thu 6th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Staying at St Giles is like coming home - Rating 5/5

I am a regular guest and find the accommodation very comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. My only problem is that I am not able to stay longer!

Reviewer:Ms. Caraline C | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Beautiful building, lovely rooms, brilliant service - Rating 5/5

Would stay here any time!All round amazing and a great night's sleep.Good food, clean lovely bedroom and good amenities.Only downside was no bath in such a lovely big bathroom.Shower was great though.

Reviewer:Ms. Danielle S | Mon 8th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Great Location - Rating 5/5

Hello.I enjoyed my stay at St Giles Hotel very much.The hotel is in a great location, the room was comfortable, and your staff was just fantastic.A very good selection of breakfast items, but the dinner menu was not appealing to me.Comments about the room:the bathroom sink faucet is not long enough to use properly.Every time I washed my hands water spilled all over the counter tops.The fabric on the chair in the bedroom was stained and should be replaced.But there is no question that I would stay again and recommend the St Giles to friends.

Reviewer:Ms. Janet S | Wed 27th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night as going to the theatre in Norwich.Very friendly and helpful staff, nicely furnished, comfortable and clean room and an excellent breakfast.Hotel is very near to main shopping area but in a quiet street.Will stay again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol H | Sun 17th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Comfortable and friendly stay - Rating 5/5

Taking my brother to see his Nephew at University we stayed gor a night at the St Giles. Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. I have stayed here previously with my wife and parents and its always been the same. The room is clean, comfortable and spacious - bathroom is large and well supplied with shampoo, conditioner etc. Breakfast in the morning is very good with an excellent range of choices. Any gripes? Not really, if pushed I'd have to say the wifi can be a little slow. Great value for what you get and my first choice whenever I go to Norwich.

Reviewer:Mr. David P | Tue 12th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

A wonderful stay. Great attention to detail and service. The food in the restuarant was excellent and the service was very understated - our waiter was excellent - very friendly and helpful. We will definately stay again

Reviewer:Mr. Russell B | Mon 11th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent one night stay! - Rating 5/5

Fantastic venue, excellent room and most importantly top rate service, couldnt fault it.

Reviewer:Mr. RobertAlborough| Mon 27th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Great stay! - Rating 5/5

Service was great, bar staff exceptional.Breakfast was superb. Room was lovely, only negative would be we didn't have a bath, just a shower.We stayed for my dads 70th and all really enjoyed it!

Reviewer:Miss. Catherine D | Mon 6th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


As good as the first time- Rating 5/5

2nd time at St Giles confirmed.this is an excellent hotel.polite and helpful staff. Food excellent and so clean in fact best hotel in Norwich have already booked for xmas and cant wait

Reviewer:Mr. William W | Mon 30th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Ideal position and charming staff - Rating 5/5

Quite by accident found the hotel and left feeling we had made a find.The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, room clean and shower really good.Only criticism , sorry, but there was no soap in the bathroom.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger C | Mon 16th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed at st giles in march for a theatre visit,we have stayed before and never been disappointed, lovely room great meal and cocktails. Breakfast was the best as always, staff so lovely could not do enough for us, we will be back.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lynn R | Sun 8th Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


No problem sir - Rating 5/5

Excellent location and very friendly and attentive staff as evidenced by finding wifi wasn't working in my part of the hotel - 'no problem sir' and I was moved to a room where it did with no fuss.Good sized rooms with all the facilities you need.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike B | Sun 1st Mar 2015 | 5 years ago


A lovely short stay - Rating 5/5

I stay at many hotels because I travel a lot. Therefore, travelling for non-business reasons needs to be stressless and the hotel MUST be good.On our arrival we were greeted with a smile. Check-in was painless. Parking was ample and right behind the hotel. The room was much bigger than expected and really comfortable and clean.The staff were, without exception, friendly, helpful and eager to please.The rate included a 1st class english breakfast and there was a very complete buffet.The location of the hotel is in the middle of the historic part of Norwich and is surrounded by cobblestone roads, pedestrian areas and right next door to the market.I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Reviewer:Mr. Karim H | Thu 19th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


An excellent stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely room, very polite and helpful staff. Central location to enjoy Norwich.There was plenty to eat for breakfast, especially the full english. We will stay again and would certainly recommend St Giles Hotel to anyone wanting to explore Norwich and surrounding areas.

Reviewer:Mr. Jamie S | Sat 7th Feb 2015 | 5 years ago


Staff really care. - Rating 5/5

I always choose St Giles - its a lovely hotel but its the staff that make the difference - they do seem to actually care!I do hope they get the Internet speed sorted though! The staff were very sympathetic but it was the weekend and they couldnt help!

Reviewer:Ms. Helen T | Mon 19th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


Good Hotel, Great location in Norwich.- Rating 5/5

Lovely friendly hotel,comfortable bedrooms and car parking.Have not eaten dinner here but breakfast very good. Very helpful staff and will definitely stay here again when visiting friends in Norwich

Reviewer:Mrs. JaneP | Sun 18th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


Wonderful Weekend- Rating 5/5

We have just got back from a lovely weekend in Norwich, made all the better by the wonderful St Giles Hotel. It looks absolutely stunning &the staff are friendly very helpful. It was spotlessly clean &the food was lovely.

Reviewer:Mrs. CherrieLaanest| Sun 18th Jan 2015 | 5 years ago


Best Hotel in Norwich - Rating 5/5

fantastic!! Staff very good, well trained. Room was great

Reviewer:Mr. William W | Thu 11th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


anniversary stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights (Thu 4 &Fri 5 Dec). Hotel staff were attentive and friendly, room was lovely and breakfast great. Excellent location, just two minutes' walk from market square. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Berkeley Y | Mon 8th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Surprise weekend - Rating 5/5

We had a thoroughly nice weekend. Staff we're very friendly, rooms comfortable with a great bathroom. We would recommend the hotel to friends and are likely to return.

Reviewer:Ms. StephanieC | Sun 30th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Very happy - Rating 5/5

Much better value and standard than other options.Lots of history with the building and well renovated.Great location.

Reviewer:Mr. Nathan D | Wed 26th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


birthday trip - Rating 5/5

This is the third time we have stayed and have never been dissapointed. It's a well kept hotel beds are so comfortable and location for the town could be any better highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul B | Sun 16th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Weekend Stay - Rating 5/5

Once again we had a very enjoyable stay. In particular we appreciated the friendly attentive reception (nothing is much too much trouble) and the comfort in the room.

Reviewer:Mr. David W | Mon 6th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


St Giles - Rating 5/5

Excellent service today from helpful understanding staff. We thoroughly enjoyed an excellent breakfast!

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan H | Sun 28th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


highly recommend - Rating 5/5

Accommodation was excellent and staff were so very helpful and attentive in every way.

Reviewer:Miss. Linda B | Sun 7th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


great staff but no spa - Rating 5/5

We always stay at the St Giles when in Norwich .The staff are second to none,very capable,friendly and professional.Especially the Reception staff who always go the extra mile.On this occasion our room was a bit tired with the arms on the one comfortable chair in the twin room worn and peeled off and the wallpaper had been torn off in places.However,the hotel is ideally situated for the shops and the lanes,is a beautiful building and the breakfast is great.

Reviewer:Miss. Wendy D | Wed 6th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Enjoyed our stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the St Giles two nights on a short visit to Norwich. It was really nice - the staff were very friendly, and the room was very clean and comfortable. It is in the city center close to the market, restaurants, and other sights, not far to the river, cathedral and castle. The breakfast was good, and the cafe was nice. All in all heartily recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kirsten B | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


I King - Rating 5/5

We have had a lovely stay at the hotel,with the staff, food and room being first class. The only improvement I can suggest would be to send out details of our parking arrangements, and making the rear entrance to the hotel a little more inviting as most people staying would be via a car. But overall we had a fantastic stay and would love to come back again at some point. Many thanks Ian

Reviewer:Mr. Ian K | Fri 18th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


The best - Rating 5/5

I use hotels on business most weeks so am able to give an objective review. I rate the st Giles as one of the best in the UK, giving it a 10 out of 10, on my rather strict personal standard. Thank you and well done to all the staff at the st Giles.

Reviewer:Mr. Robin P | Thu 17th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

My Sister and I organised a birthday break for my mum and dad (80 and 76 this year). We all had a lovely stay at st giles- we felt like we were on holiday! Very nice staff, lovely breakfast and a beautiful setting. Thank you- we would definitely recommend to others.

Reviewer:Ms. Jennifer B | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


First Time - Rating 5/5

I've heard many a good tale about the hotel - I even remember the TV documentary when it was being built and last night certainly didn't disappoint.Arriving late (10.30pm) all I wanted to do was get to my room.A speedy check in (slow check in's are one of my biggest bug bares in hotels), escorted to the lift and the short cut to breakfast highlighted were all lovely touches.The room was extremely well presented, clean with everything to hand that I could have wanted.Couple of things - no iron or ironing board in the room - I know you can ring reception for one to be delivered but always prefer one in the room. WiFi code 'hidden' on bedside table - maybe place it in the Hotel Information book.Fantastic stay, speedy checkout and look forward to staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Ben S | Fri 20th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


fantastic hotel - Rating 5/5

We booked this hotel for it central location and we were not disappointed , we were seeing a show at the theater royal, only a three minute walk away there are plenty of pubs &restaurants close by too, the rooms are very clean with comfortable beds , mini bar huge bathroom we stayed in room 12 which also had a small balcony, the breakfast was amazing, we will definitely return to this hotel

Reviewer:Mr. Ian M | Mon 16th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


City centre gem - Rating 5/5

Excellent city centre location, great place to get to food &entertainment. Polite friendly and efficient staff. Good price too

Reviewer:Mrs. Jessica H | Sun 4th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent Hotel - Rating 5/5

Very impressed with St Giles House Hotel and would certainly return.Staff excellent, extremely comfortable room and bed and excellent food. We were a little dubious about noise as our room was at the front but slept like a log! There was also a wedding on the Saturday night but we didn't hear a sound!One mistake in that the waiter gave two if our party the wrong main course on Sunday night, but this was quickly rectified and we weren't charged for our wine as an apology.No complaints at all apart from the fact that the car park is really difficult to find initially. We would certainly return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rachel T | Wed 30th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Everything from the room, staff, food and service was first class. Many thanks for a lovely time and we will have no doubtabout staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Derren R | Fri 28th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel within easy walking tothe city.Staff extremely helpful and friendly.Meals so good we ate there both nights.Room comfortable and clean, marvellous bath.

Reviewer:Mr. John Keith H | Thu 20th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


A new standard - Rating 5/5

I have never been so satisfied with a hotel booking.From the very start the staff were friendly and very considerate. I had booked a suite but to get to it there were several small flights of stairs as it was in the old building. I did not know at the time but I was getting unwell and had to stop a couple of times to get my breath. The suite offered to me was really great but a few minutes later I received a phone call from Reception. I was asked would I like the honeymoon suite which was near a lift. How considerate and what an experience that was! Over the top for just one person but if ever a man honeymoons me I would want to be in that suite.The whole stay at St Giles set the standard, for me, that other hotels need to live up to.,

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne L | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 6 years ago


St Giles Hotel - Rating 5/5

As usual, a friendly and efficient staff, with a warm welcome. The room quality is good, and the food is excellent. The hotel is ideally placed in the city centre.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul D | Mon 24th Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Brief visit - Rating 5/5

Nice to be back at st Giles house hotel. Service at dinner impeccable. Only gripe had to leave promptly and no time for cooked breakfast but nothing to eat on buffet table as only six croissants had been bought that morning for how many hotel rooms? However service is every other respect was very very good and we enjoyed our cocktails and dinner.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lc G | Sat 22nd Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Super value - Rating 5/5

We would stay here again. So close to all of interest in Norwich. A good sized and very comfortable room. The hotel staff were polite and helpful and the breakfast variety excellent.

Reviewer:Mr. Campbell M | Thu 20th Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Stylish and friendly - Rating 5/5

We loved St Giles House Hotel. All the staff are very friendly, room and bed were comfortable and quiet, breakfast was cooked to order and really 5 star!

Reviewer:Mrs. Catherine H | Mon 10th Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Fantastic ! - Rating 5/5

We booked for Saturday night, upon arrival we received a very warm welcome from the friendly staff on the front desk. The rooms were very clean and well presented, a lovely room for a night. Breakfast was very nice. When we checked out the attention we received was second to none, the lady that checked us out made the stay even nicer, we would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard G | Sun 9th Feb 2014 | 6 years ago


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

Warm and friendly city centre hotel in a lovely city, with a great restaurant. Well appointed rooms. What more do you need to know?Book now!

Reviewer:Mr. Philip C | Sun 26th Jan 2014 | 6 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

really enjoyed my stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Celine V | Sat 18th Jan 2014 | 6 years ago


the best- Rating 5/5

Awesome stay, Sandra (the receptionist, I do hope I recalled her name correctly)was so friendly, welcoming and truly interested in our stay. The breakfast was truly the best eggs Benedict I have ever had anywhere in the world!! The room was outstanding, comfortable beyond our needs.We look forward to our next stay, THANK YOU for our last.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel Jackson| Sun 29th Dec 2013 | 6 years ago


Lovely venue for Family get together - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night, reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, clean comfortable with a large bathroom and large shower and plenty of soap, shower gel and shampoo which smelt lovely. We were guests at a party in the Walnut Suite with a sit down dinner, and the food was very tasty and well presented.We treated ourselves to breakfast in bed which arrived on time with everything we order cooked beautifully. All the staff we found helpful and friendly and would recommend any of our friends or family to stay here.Added bonus of being right in the centre of Norwich, we plenty to do and see.

Reviewer:Mr. PaulL | Sun 22nd Dec 2013 | 6 years ago


Very Good Hotel - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and facilities. High quality small hotel ideally situated in the city.

Reviewer:Mr. Adam F | Mon 18th Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


A pleasant stay as always - Rating 5/5

I stay here every couple of months and find the staff are very welcoming. The hotel provides a good standard of accommodation and I like the individual approach to the decoration of each room, not the ubiquitous beige and browns.The food both for dinner and breakfast is good,

Reviewer:Ms. Julia Palfreeman| Wed 13th Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


Very Enjoyable Norwich City Center Hotel - Rating 5/5

Friendly helpful staff, great location for the city centre. Parking a bit tricky to find first time but easy once you know. Cooked breakfast just like home.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark H | Sun 3rd Nov 2013 | 6 years ago


Stunning Location, Great Service - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived we knew we were in for a treat. The hotel has a stunning interior and the rooms also deliver. It's not budget but it its great value for money. Breakfast was fantastic and served at the time requested in our room for a minimal charge. Staff were pleasant and friendly and happily accommodated all our requests. Would recommend to anyone looking for Smart location with easy access to central Norwich.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew S | Mon 30th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Hen Weekend - Rating 5/5

We absolutely loved the hotel. The staff were very welcoming and the rooms were clean and comfotable. It's in an excellent location with parking. It enhanced my pre wedding celebrations and I can't wait to stay again! Thank you so much!

Reviewer:Mrs. Andrea E | Mon 26th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

An excellent hotel, very centrally positioned. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was good too and the staff were all outstandingly kind and helpful.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert E | Sun 18th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Fabulous hotel - Rating 5/5

Great hotel in the centre of Norwich. Service was friendly and very pleasant. Rooms were lovely and breakfast was tasty too. I would defiantly return.

Reviewer:Mrs. AngelaH | Sun 21st Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Fantastic venue - Rating 5/5

Made us extremely welcome &despite being slightly early for check in, still checked us in &ensured we were notified as soon as the room was ready. Still before check in time too! Excellent rooms. Excellent food. Staff extremely friendly and always nice to be able to speak the same language as the staff - not always the case in chain hotels. A fantastic stay. We will be back.

Reviewer:Mr. Nic P | Wed 3rd Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


wonderful nights stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and accommodation

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa B | Mon 10th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


St Giles house hotel - Rating 5/5

had a fantastic stay at this hotel-we got a free upgarade to a suite as it was our WA.All the staff were very helpful and our suite was first class. The location is excellent.Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. David K | Fri 3rd May 2013 | 6 years ago


Absolutely lovely - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the St. Giles House for 1 night on the 27th April and from the moment we walked through the front door and spoke to the girl's on reception we felt totally relaxed and that carried on through our short stay. The room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The food was superb and the staff on reception as well as in the restaurant and bar area were friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. All in all a fabulous visit and we will be back as soon as we can sort out a date to book up the dbb offer.

Reviewer:Mr. Terry M | Mon 29th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Great hotel, great stay - Rating 5/5

Just in Norwich for one night. The hotel was very conveniently located, with friendly and attentive staff. The afternoon tea and breakfast were both great (we didn't have dinner at the hotel). The bedroom and bathroom were both spacious and clean. My only minor gripe is that the bathroom taps were very close to the wall for me to use with my large hands. Other than that my wife and I highly recommend the St. Giles and will certainly stay there again when we next visit Norwich.

Reviewer:Mr. C J W | Tue 2nd Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Conference stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent, helpful most corteous staff from the first minute to the last. Helped with parking, local knowledge for restaurants, and when I needed a few bits and pieces from their office! Would recommend rm 16 deluxe suite with fantastic bathroom and big luxurious bed!

Reviewer:Mr. George S | Tue 19th Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


Theatre visit - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay with you (room4 on 8/9.:3.13 ).The room was a delight, very comfortable and elegant in style.Being so close to the centre of town makes St Giles' House the perfect place to stay.We shall look forward to a return visit.

Reviewer:Mr. Nigel T | Sun 10th Mar 2013 | 7 years ago


perfect stay - Rating 5/5

This is my third time at St. Giles House.I have stayed in other hotels in Norwich, but this hotel outperforms them all. The heritage setting is complemented by the gracious attitude of the staff.

Reviewer:Mr. MarkMcdonald| Mon 11th Feb 2013 | 7 years ago


A well needed weekend break... - Rating 5/5

From the minute we walked into the hotel to the minute we left, the service was second to none.Nothing was too much trouble.The bedroom was lovely - bed REALLY comfortable. Breakfast very nice too. It's centrally located so perfect for our wants. Thanks for making our weekend in Norwich even more memorable.

Reviewer:Ms. Kathryn B | Mon 28th Jan 2013 | 7 years ago


Feedback - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at your hotel everything was just perfect that was our 7th Anniversary nothing was to much trouble for the staff and the room was very comfortable and cosy the food and selection was excellent we had a wonderful time and would stay with you again for sure thanks very much to all your staff they are very professional at what they do to make guest feel part of the st Giles house hotel thanks again g&s maunder x

Reviewer:Mr. Glenn M | Mon 7th Jan 2013 | 7 years ago


HIghly Recommended - Rating 5/5

Excellent location, the staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. We will be returning again next year.

Reviewer:Mrs. Marianne W | Wed 2nd Jan 2013 | 7 years ago


A real gem of a hotel - Rating 5/5

We came to Norwich for a weekend's Christmas shopping and although this was our first stay at St Giles House, it certainly won't be our last!The atmosphere is wonderful, the staff warm and welcoming, the food delicious and the service friendly and efficient.Thank you so much to everyone.

Reviewer:Ms. Christine S | Thu 20th Dec 2012 | 7 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

Lovely hotel, fantastic location and facilities and a bathroom to die for.A wonderfully relaxing stay

Reviewer:Mr. Robert B | Mon 10th Dec 2012 | 7 years ago


wow - Rating 5/5

I was very impressed with the high standards at St Giles house, and in a lovely old building.

Reviewer:Mr. ShaunG | Wed 5th Dec 2012 | 7 years ago


Delightful Hotel in centre of Norwich - Rating 5/5

Charming well appointed hotel in centre of Norwich, with secure car parking.Online booking was simple, the staff were all friendly and helpful. Good double bedroom. No problems.Will return for the opera next year.

Reviewer:Dr. Martin G | Mon 5th Nov 2012 | 7 years ago


Sunday birthday treat - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our Sunday dinner, bed and breakfast break very much.Our meals were well cooked, presented and served. Staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is well turned out. Will return again.

Reviewer:Ms. Jane D | Tue 2nd Oct 2012 | 7 years ago


Great City break - Rating 4/5

Everything you want for a city weekend break - no fuss and ceremony just top quality service, accom and food.Ideal location for a great night out in the city.

Reviewer:Mr. RobertF | Mon 1st Oct 2012 | 7 years ago


A pleasant stay - Rating 4/5

We stayed for a single night for our wedding anniversary. The Spa treatments were very nice and we were treated very well. The room was clean and bright but was too hot at times, (as was most of the hotel) and the A/C was a bit noisy to have on at night. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel but did have breakfast and that was good.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark B | Mon 24th Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Excelent standard at accommodation, food and customer care, we will definately be back soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Gary B | Sun 23rd Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


Midweek Theatre Break - Rating 5/5

Decided to book a theatre show for my wife's 40th - choose St Giles House for its central location and easy parking.Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff, great room with massive bathroom.Good value for a city centre hotel - would recommend

Reviewer:Mr. Simon H | Sun 2nd Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


See you soon. - Rating 5/5

I can only thank your reception staff as well has your bar &serving staff for the service and hospitality they showed to us. Plus the exceptionally well presented room which was in excellent condition through out.My wife and I will look forward to our next stay with you,Likely to be October or November.

Reviewer:Mr. Reginald S | Mon 27th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


LOVELY!! - Rating 4/5

EVERYTHING WAS LOVELY! WE HAD A GREAT TIME

Reviewer:Mrs. Christine R | Wed 8th Aug 2012 | 7 years ago


City Centre super - Rating 5/5

Looked for ages to find a hotel to stay in Norwich twice a year to see family. This by far the best. Quirky though modern and smart, slightly bohemian feel and splendid, thoughtful service.

Reviewer:Mr. Eric S | Mon 30th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 4/5

Staff all polite welcoming and efficient. Particular mention for Marie on front the front desk.She was always calm and welcoming.Simply, you have got it just right. A great experience.Room 7 was a joy. Thanks

Reviewer:Mrs. Kay P | Sun 29th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


No idea what this means - Rating 1/5

Nice hotel, interested staff and good stay.Would have preferred a non-disabled room so as to have a more attractive bathroom.We're not disabled and hotel wasn't full.If only a shower available how about providing a shower cap ?The Star Rating thing below isn't working - would give 4 out of 5.Thanks.

Reviewer:Mr. Caroline G | Thu 26th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Superb!- Rating 5/5

I took my partner here for a Birthday weekend and couldn't fault it. We had a lovely clean room and a huge bathroom! Staff very helpful, breakfast was tasty and the cocktails in the bar &garden were a really nice touch. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Miss. Alice L | Wed 25th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Luscious - Rating 5/5

I travel and stay in a lot of hotels around the world and have to say that the attentiveness of the staff and the quality of this hotel is superb it should be a 5 star hotel. Fantastic we actually went back after staying in another hotel in the local area and cancelled that and returned to St Giles

Reviewer:Mr. William M | Wed 25th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Beautiful hotel - Rating 4/5

I have wanted to go to this hotel since I moved to Norfolk 5 years ago and I had the opportunity to go last weekend.The hotel is beautiful, I love old buildings and somewhere with character.The room was comfortable, the staff couldn't have been more helpful.Breakfast was lovely. The only downside was the noise, I didn't sleep a wink all night

Reviewer:Miss. Nicola H | Thu 19th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


A lovely place to stay. - Rating 5/5

Reception welcome was warm and efficient.Lunch service from the two ladies was excellent.Checkout was smoothe and efficient.My wife and I who work in differing parts of the world will rendezvous at St. Giles again soon, hopefully.

Reviewer:Mr. Reg S | Sun 15th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


St Giles. Stay - Rating 3/5

Service excellent, food wonderful, room comfortable. Our only complaint was the loud noise from the street that went well into the night. The noise came from both the YMCA, but from the waffle restaurant a few doors down where people hung around outside talking very loudly until around 1am Friday and Saturday night.

Reviewer:Mr. James H | Mon 9th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Stayed only the one night, however it was very good indeed. Room very good, food and staff also very good, unable to fault any part of the stay including the fantastic location right in the heart of the city.

Reviewer:Mr. Raymond B | Mon 9th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


St Giles House Hotel - Rating 5/5

Beautifully clean rooms, great staff and good food.A brilliant hotel with a fantastic atmosphere.

Reviewer:Mr. Tom B | Mon 2nd Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Lovely hotel- Rating 5/5

Really nice hotel. Really comfy bed, v friendly staff and nice building. All good.

Reviewer:Mr. David R | Mon 11th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


fANTASTIC - Rating 5/5

I took my boyfriend here for a surprise birthday treat. We were shown our room on arrival and the receptionist was so lovely and made us feel very welcome. The room was fab and the bathroom was amazing! We had cocktails in the evening and the barman was very attentive. We didnt stay in the hotel for dinner. One slight complaint would be that the room got very hot despite both windows being open. Also as we were situated at the back of the hotel we could hear staff leaving and emptying bins at very early hours. Breakfast was amazing and staff again were very nice. We had a lovely time and would love to come again and will be recommending this to everyone. My boyfriend was very impressed with the hotel and the location was perfect

Reviewer:Miss. Abigail J | Tue 22nd May 2012 | 7 years ago


Enjoyable and Excellent - Rating 5/5

Staying at St Giles House Hotel was an excellent experience. The Staff were extremely helpful, the food was superb and the room was spacious and comfortable. We'll certainly be back again. Well done, top marks!

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Mon 21st May 2012 | 7 years ago


overview - Rating 5/5

i have been staying in this hotel for over a year, it is friendly and very professional.the rooms are beautifully decorated and the food is delicious.i would recommend this hotel to all of my business collegues and friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Tina M | Thu 26th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


Our Stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I were in Norwich for the wedding of the daughter of a very good freind.Your location was great and the hotel served us very well.We enjoyed our stay with you as well as the room, bar, outdoor area, and ofcourse, the on site parking.We also enjoyed the ability to walk to shops and interesting sites from your front door.It was a good experience.Good job.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles C | Tue 3rd Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


overnight stay - Rating 5/5

fantastic hotel, lovely rooms friendly staff excellent value for money would recommend this hotel to everyone.food in restaurant also very very nice.

Reviewer:Mr. Jonathan R | Thu 22nd Mar 2012 | 7 years ago


St.Giles House Hotel - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed a single night at the hotel. Had stayed before on our wedding night and the quality of the room, service and food had not changed. Would recommend for a special treat.

Reviewer:Mr. Matt P | Tue 13th Mar 2012 | 8 years ago


Another Great Stay - Rating 5/5

This was our second visit to St Giles House and it was just as good as the first.We had a fantastic stay and wonderful service.We received a lovely warm welcome on reception when we arrived and were shown to our room.Ate another wonderful dinner in the Bistro which was served by very helpful staff.Had the most fantastic help from a great young lady in the Spa.Well done St Giles House.....you did it again, thank you.

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne G | Thu 8th Mar 2012 | 8 years ago


We will be back - Rating 5/5

All the staff were excellent throughout our stay, everyone was particularly friendly. We would recommend St Giles House Hotel and definitely stay again as our son is at UEA and we will be coming back. The hotel has a great location in the centre of the city, you can forget your car and walk everywhere.

Reviewer:Mr. Clive J | Mon 20th Feb 2012 | 8 years ago


Faultless! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at st. Giles house hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The suite room we occupied was beautifully furnished and very spacious with everything and more that you might expect.The bar is nice and has a wonderful atmosphere and the breakfast was second to none.Would definitely recommend and we look forward to our next visit!

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew B | Tue 7th Feb 2012 | 8 years ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 5/5

We booked in a suite on Saturday night as a treat for ourselves and had the most fantastic time. The accommodation was wonderful, the food was superb and the service from the staff was second to none. I would definately stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline H | Mon 30th Jan 2012 | 8 years ago


Lovely break - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely break at the St Giles House Hotel.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful without being too in your face and the hotel is beautifully decorated and comfortable.It is very central and yet has parking.My only minor gripes were that my steak was a little over-cooked and it would have been nicer to have a bath in our bathroom considering how spacious it was, but I'm really just splitting hairs there.All in all, highly recommended and we would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathryn H | Mon 23rd Jan 2012 | 8 years ago


Our Facilities


  • Disabled
  • Conference
  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • Bar
  • City Centre
  • Breakfast In Room
  • Ironing Service
  • Bridal Suite
  • Wifi
  • Massage
  • Luxury
  • Vegetarian
  • City Breaks
  • Romantic Breaks